Bonsai Resources

If you would like to add to this resource, list please email the website admin. 
MBS does not promote or endorse any of the services or products below.

Tools, wire, soil, pots and supplies
American Bonsai – https://www.americanbonsai.com
Bonsai Learning Center – https://bonsailearningcenter.mysimplestore.com
Bonsai Mirai – http://www.bonsaimirai.com
Bonsai Outlet – https://www.bonsaioutlet.com/
Bonsai Tonight – https://store.bonsaitonight.com/
Eastern Leaf – https://www.easternleaf.com/
House of Bonsai – https://www.houseofbonsai.com
Stone Lantern – https://www.stonelantern.com/
Sumo Bonsai Supply – https://www.sumobonsaisupply.com/

Where to purchase bonsai
Minnesota Bonsai Society Auction (Held Twice a Year)
99 Cent Bonsai (Facebook)
Bonsai Auctions (Facebook)
Bonsai Outlet – https://www.bonsaioutlet.com/
Brussel’s Bonsai – https://brusselsbonsai.com/
Bonsai Northwest – http://www.bonsainw.com/
Ebay – www.ebay.com
Kevin Oshima (appointment Only) (651)4367920
New England Bonsai – https://www.nebonsai.com/
Suthin Sukosolvisit – https://www.suthinbonsaistudio.com/sales

Collected (Yamadori) and field grown trees
Back Country Bonsai – Randy Knight (https://backcountrybonsai.wordpress.com/yamadori-sources/)
Driftwood Bonsai (http://www.driftwoodbonsai.com/store-1/)
Golden Arrow – Andy Smith (http://www.goldenarrowbonsai.com/index.html)
Intermountain Bonsai – Sam Miller (https://www.facebook.com/IntermountainBonsai/)
Teleperion Farms (http://www.telfarms.com/)

Wire
The two most commonly used types are copper and aluminum. It is not the same wire you would find in a home store hardware department. Aluminum is sized using the metric system, starting with 1.0 (the smallest).The most common sizes for beginners are 1.5, 2.0, 2.5 and 3. Copper is measured by gauge, the lower the number the thicker the wire. Copper wire must be annealed, and will “harden” once bent making it great to use for slow growing trees like conifers.

Copper Suppliers:
Adams Bonsai – http://www.adamsbonsai.com/adamsbonsai2018_008.htm
American Bonsai – https://www.americanbonsai.com
Bonsai Learning Center – https://bonsailearningcenter.mysimplestore.com
Jim Gremel – Deer Meadow Bonsai Phone: 707-874-1679
Mirai (Oregon) – http://www.bonsaimirai.com
Dallas Bonsai

Aluminum Wire Caddy:
Bonsai Caddy – http://www.bonsaiwirecaddy.com/
Greenwood Bonsai – https://www.bonsai.co.uk
SuperFly Bonsai – https://www.superflybonsai.com
Van Jensen  – MBS Member

Copper Wire Caddy:
Adams Bonsai – http://www.adamsbonsai.com

Pot Identification
American Bonsai Ceramics – http://americanbonsaiceramics.com/vendors/
Michael Ryan Bell – https://japanesebonsaipots.net/

Online Learning
Bonsai Empire – https://www.bonsaiempire.com/
Mirai Live (Oregon) – https://live.bonsaimirai.com/

Potters
Tom Benda (Czech) – https://www.facebook.com/tom.benda.963
Chuck Iker – http://www.ikerbonsaipots.com
Thor Holvila – https://www.holvilabonsaipot.com/blog
Ron Lang – http://www.langbonsai.com/
Andrew Pearson – http://www.stonemonkeyceramics.co.uk/
Sara Rayner (MN) – http://www.redwing.net/~daalms/

Tools
American Bonsai – http://www.americanbonsai.com
Joshua Roth – http://www.joshuaroth.com/
Kaneshin – http://kaneshin.shop.multilingualcart.com/
Yoshiaki tools
Masakuni – http://www.masakuni.com/
Mu Tian – Available on Amazon and Ebay
Roshi –
Tiny Roots – http://www.tinyroots.com/


Bonsai Museums & Displays
Como (Saint Paul) – http://www.comozooconservatory.org/blogs/bonsai-and-the-japanese-garden/
Pacific Bonsai Museum (Seattle, WA) – http://pacificbonsaimuseum.org/
The National Bonsai & Penjing Museum (Washington, DC) – https://www.bonsai-nbf.org/

Bonsai Nurseries
New England Bonsai – https://www.nebonsai.com/
Mirai (Oregon) – http://www.bonsaimirai.com
Wigerts (Florida) – http://www.wigertsbonsai.com/

Bonsai Professionals
Bjorn Bjorholm – http://www.bjornbjorholm.com/
Rodney Clemens – https://www.facebook.com/AllgoodBonsai/
Jim Doyle
Mark Fields
Rob Kempinski
Colin Lewis
Boon Manakitivipart – http://www.bonsaiboon.com
Ted Matson
Jerry Meislik
John Naka
Ryan Neil – http://www.bonsaimirai.com
Matt Reel – http://www.reelbonsai.com/
Dan Robinson – http://www.elandangardens.com/
John Romano
Michael Persiano
Robert Pressler
Sean Smith
Suthin Sukosolvisit – https://www.suthinbonsaistudio.com/sales
Peter Tea – https://peterteabonsai.wordpress.com/about-me/
Erik Wigert
William Valavanis

Bonsai Auctions
Minnesota Bonsai Society (Held Twice a Year)
99 Cent Bonsai (Facebook)
Bonsai Auctions (Facebook)

Blogs/Podcasts
Bjorn Bjorholm – http://www.bjornbjorholm.com/category/vlogs/
Bonsai Nut – https://www.bonsainut.com/threads/wire-caddy.577/

Japanese Gardens
Como (Saint Paul) – http://www.comozooconservatory.org/blogs/bonsai-and-the-japanese-garden/
Portland Japanese Garden – https://japanesegarden.org/

Bonsai Clubs
Find a club near you – Interactive Map