Bonsai Resources

If you would like to add to this resource, list please email the website admin. 
MBS does not promote or endorse any of the services or products below.

WHERE TO FIND TREES

Minnesota Bonsai Society Auction (Held Twice a Year)
Berea Bonsai – https://bereabonsai.com/
99 Cent Bonsai (Facebook)
Bonsai Auctions (Facebook)
Bonsai Outlet – https://www.bonsaioutlet.com/
Brussel’s Bonsai – https://brusselsbonsai.com/
Bonsai Northwest – http://www.bonsainw.com/
Driftwood – Bonsai – http://www.driftwoodbonsai.com/
Ebay – www.ebay.com
Lone Pine Gardens – http://www.lonepinegardens.com/
New England Bonsai – https://www.nebonsai.com/
Suthin Sukosolvisit – https://www.suthinbonsaistudio.com/sales

Collected (Yamadori) and field grown trees
Back Country Bonsai – http://www.backcountrybonsai.com/
Cho Bonsai  – http://www.chobonsaiyamadori.com/
Driftwood Bonsai (http://www.driftwoodbonsai.com/store-1/)
First Branch Bonsai – https://www.firstbranchbonsai.com/
Golden Arrow – Andy Smith (http://www.goldenarrowbonsai.com/index.html)
Intermountain Bonsai – Sam Miller (https://www.facebook.com/IntermountainBonsai/)
Randy Knight oregonbonsai@gmail.com
Teleperion Farms (http://www.telfarms.com/)

SUPPLIES

Below are online stores that sell everything from cut paste to soil sifters.
Limited supplies can also be purchased at the MBS General Meeting and Bonsai Basics.

American Bonsai – https://www.americanbonsai.com
Bonsai Learning Center – https://bonsailearningcenter.mysimplestore.com
Bonsai Mirai – http://www.bonsaimirai.com
Bonsai Outlet – https://www.bonsaioutlet.com/
Bonsai Tonight – https://store.bonsaitonight.com/
California Bonsai – https://www.californiabonsai.com
Eastern Leaf – https://www.easternleaf.com/
House of Bonsai – https://www.houseofbonsai.com
Stone Lantern – https://www.stonelantern.com/
Sumo Bonsai Supply – https://www.sumobonsaisupply.com/

WIRE

The two most commonly used types are copper and aluminum. It is not the same wire you would find in a home store hardware department. Aluminum is sized using the metric system, starting with 1.0 (the smallest).The most common sizes for beginners are 1.5, 2.0, 2.5 and 3.

Copper is measured by gauge, the lower the number the thicker the wire. Copper wire must be annealed, and will “harden” once bent making it great to use for slow growing trees like conifers.

COPPER WIRE:
Peter Tea – https://www.ptbonsai.com/copper-wire
Jim Gremel – Deer Meadow Bonsai Phone: 707-874-1679
Mirai (Oregon) – http://www.bonsaimirai.com

ALUMINUM WIRE:
Eastern Leaf – https://www.easternleaf.com/
House of Bonsai – https://www.houseofbonsai.com
Stone Lantern – https://www.stonelantern.com/
Sumo Bonsai Supply – https://www.sumobonsaisupply.com/

ALUMINUM WIRE CADDY:
Bonsai Caddy – http://www.bonsaiwirecaddy.com/
Greenwood Bonsai – https://www.bonsai.co.uk
SuperFly Bonsai – https://www.superflybonsai.com

COPPER WIRE CADDY:
Adams Bonsai – http://www.adamsbonsai.com
Peter Tea Tip – Use a round Jumper Cable Bag!

POTTERY/STANDS

POT IDENTIFICATION
American Bonsai Ceramics – http://americanbonsaiceramics.com
Michael Ryan Bell – https://japanesebonsaipots.net/

POTTERS
European Bonsai Potter’s Collective http://www.europeanbonsaipottercollective.com/
American Bonsai Ceramics Vendors — http://americanbonsaiceramics.com/vendors/

POTTERS BY NAME:
Vicki Chamberlain www.earthwares.org
Tom Benda (Czech) – https://www.facebook.com/tom.benda.963
Grégory Delattre — http://www.greg-ceramics.com/
Etsy https://www.etsy.com
Chuck Iker – http://www.ikerbonsaipots.com
Thor Holvila – https://www.holvilabonsaipot.com/blog
Ron Lang – http://www.langbonsai.com/
Andrew Pearson – http://www.stonemonkeyceramics.co.uk/
Sara Rayner (MN) – http://www.redwing.net/~daalms/

POT VENDORS:
American Bonsai – https://www.americanbonsai.com/Bonsai-Pots-s/1827.htm
Mirai – https://goods.bonsaimirai.com/collections/test-ceramics

BONSAI STAND MAKERS
Austin Heitzman — http://www.austinheitzmanfurniture.com/bonsai-stands
Da Su Bonsai Gallery — https://bonsaitrees.com/gallery.php?id=4
Ross Adams http://www.nitju.com/

LEARNING & WORKSHOPS

MBS CLASSES & MEETINGS (free for members)
General Meeting – https://minnesotabonsaisociety.org
Bonsai Basics – https://minnesotabonsaisociety.org
Bonsai Concepts – https://minnesotabonsaisociety.org

ONLINE LEARNING
Bonsai Empire – https://www.bonsaiempire.com/
Mirai Live  – https://live.bonsaimirai.com/

BLOGS/PODCASTS
Assymetry https://bonsaimirai.com/node/858
Bjorn Bjorholm Blog – http://www.bjornbjorholm.com/category/vlogs/
Bjorn Bjorholm Podcast – http://www.bjornbjorholm.com/category/podcast/
Bonsai Nut – https://www.bonsainut.com/
Michael Hagedorn – https://crataegus.com/

BONSAI PROFESSIONALS
Bjorn Bjorholm – http://www.bjornbjorholm.com/
Rodney Clemens – https://www.allgoodbonsai.com/
Jim Doyle – http://www.natureswaybonsai.com/jim-bio
Rob Kempinski – https://bonsai-bsf.com/
Boon Manakitivipart – http://www.bonsaiboon.com
Ted Matson – https://fascinatingnouns.com/ted-matson/
Jerry Meislik https://www.bonsaihunk.us/
Robert Pressler – https://www.kimurabonsainursery.com/
Ryan Neil – http://www.bonsaimirai.com
Matt Reel – http://www.reelbonsai.com/
Dan Robinson – http://www.elandangardens.com/
Andrew Robson – https://www.rakuyobonsai.com/about
Tyler Sherrod Bonsai – https://www.dogwoodstudiosnc.com
Suthin Sukosolvisit – https://www.suthinbonsaistudio.com
Peter Tea – https://www.ptbonsai.com
William Valavanis – https://valavanisbonsaiblog.com/

GARDENS AND DISPLAYS

Bonsai Nurseries/Gardens
Como (Saint Paul) – http://www.comozooconservatory.org
New England Bonsai – https://www.nebonsai.com/
Mirai (Oregon) – http://www.bonsaimirai.com
Pacific Bonsai Museum (Seattle, WA) – http://pacificbonsaimuseum.org/
The National Bonsai & Penjing Museum (Washington, DC) – https://www.bonsai-nbf.org/
Wigerts (Florida) – http://www.wigertsbonsai.com/