Minnesota Bonsai Society 2017 Calendar of Events


Note: Dates and event schedules do change periodically throughout the year. So check back often for updates, and be certain to watch the newsletter for the most up to date information about events for that month.
Please click event for directions.

January

January - No General Meeting this month

January - No Bonsai Basics this month

January - No Intermediate Class this month

January 24 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

February

February 07 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - General Meeting

February 11 - Saturday, 1:30-4:30 PM - Annual Members' Banquet

February 16 - Thursday, 7:00 PM - Intermediate Class (Planning Agenda for upcoming year)

February 21 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Bonsai Basics Class (Overview of upcoming year)

February 28 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting (Maplewood Public Library) 

March

March 07 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - General Meeting

March 16 - Thursday, 7:00 PM – Intermediate Class (Repotting)

March 21 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Bonsai Basics Class (Transplanting & Pot Selection)

March 28 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

April

April 04 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - General Meeting

April 18 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Bonsai Basics Class (Wiring & Shaping Techniques)

April 20 - Thursday, 7:00 PM - Intermediate Class (Propagation, Air Layering and Thread Grafting)

April 25 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

May

May 02 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - General Meeting

May 13-14 - Saturday, Sunday - Mother's Day Bonsai Show at Como Conservatory

May 13 - Saturday, Bonsai Basics Nursery Tour - 10AM @ Bachmans on Lyndale - Please meet at the Bonsai Display

May 16 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Bonsai Basics Class (Deciduous Trees)

May 18 - Thursday, 7:00 PM - Intermediate Class (Slab Construction)

May 20, 21 - Saturday, Sunday - 10:30 AM - 4:00 PM - Novice Workshops at Como - open to the public

May 23 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

June

June 03 - 04 - Saturday, Sunday, Bonsai Professional Workshops with Bjorn Bjorholm

June 06 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - General Meeting

June 10 – Saturday, 10:00 AM – Spring Auction - open to the public

June 15 - Thursday, 7:00 PM - Intermediate Class (Rock Planting)

June 20 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Bonsai Basics (Coniferous Trees)

June 27 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

July

July 8, 9 - Saturday, Sunday - 10:30 AM to 4:00 PM - Novice Workshops at Como - open to the public

July 11 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - General Meeting (Moved from July 4th)

July 18 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Bonsai Basics Class (Tropical Transplanting)

July 20 - Thursday, 7:00 PM - Intermediate Class (American Style Bonsai Display)

July 22 - Saturday, 10:00 - 3:00 Annual Members' Tour and Picnic

July 25 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

August

August 01 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - General Meeting

August 15 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Bonsai Basics Class (State Fair Preparation)

August 17 - Thursday, 7:00 PM - Intermediate Class (State Fair Preparation - Stand and Accent Plants)

August 22 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

September

September 01-02  -  Friday, Saturday - Minnesota State Fair Show

September 03, 04 - Sunday, Monday (Labor Day) – Bonsai Professional Workshops

September 05 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - General Meeting

September 16, 17 - Saturday, Sunday - 10:30 AM - 4:00 PM Novice Workshops at Como - open to the public

September 19 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Bonsai Basics Class (Fall Care & Watering)

September 21 - Thursday, 7:00 PM - Intermediate Class (LED Lighting Presentation with Cheryl)

September 26 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

October

October 03 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - General Meeting

October 07 - Saturday, 10:00 AM - Fall Bonsai Auction

October 17 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Bonsai Basics Class (Wintering)

October 19 - Thursday, 7:00 PM - Intermediate Class (Preventative Care)

October 24 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

November

November 07 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - General Meeting

November 21 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Bonsai Basics Class (Tool Maintenance & Records)

November 28 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

Note: There is no Intermediate Class in November.

December

December 05 - Tuesday 7:00 PM - General Meeting: Holiday Party & Board Election

December 19 - Tuesday, 7:00 PM - Board Meeting

 

Note: There is no Bonsai Basics Class or Intermediate Class for either December or January